2023 Highway Safety Poster Contest

Calling all Children, Grandchildren, Nieces and Nephews of Caltrans Employees

Caltrans employees’ children, grandchildren, nieces and nephews 17 years of age and under can now submit highway safety art for the 2023 poster contest. This is an opportunity for the children in your family to share their thoughts and creative ideas about the importance of driving safely in or near a work zone and to be part of the educational outreach for this very important life-saving message.


Contest Theme

The poster contest theme is highway safety. Drawing must include:

Note: Bold and bright colors reproduce best.


Applicants must be 17 years of age or younger and must be a child, grandchild, niece or nephew of a Caltrans employee.

Age Categories

Entries Must Include the Following


Artwork must be submitted on white 8 ½ x 11 paper. Bold and/or bright colors reproduce best. No computer-generated or altered artwork will be accepted. Poster can be portrait or landscape (vertical or horizontal).


Artwork will be judged for its creative expression of encouraging drivers to slow down and save lives in highway work zones. Posters will advance through two levels. Each district and headquarters will select four posters, one from each age category, as its finalists. A judging panel will select the four winning entries from among the finalists.

Artwork Will Be Judged On:


Entries must be RECEIVED by your district's liaison no later than Monday, March 20, 2023. Entries received after that date will be disqualified for the poster contest.


Submit poster entries to your district poster contest liaison listed below. Any questions should be directed to your district liaison.

District Liaisons

2023 Highway Safety Poster Liaisons

Email contest entry form, drawing, and photograph, to the liaison in the district where the artist’s Caltrans relative works:

HQ: Lalé Moradpour

District 1: Meriah Miracle

District 2: Shanna LeBaron,

District 3: Stevey Sparks

District 4:Tanesha Foreman

District 5: Heidi Crawford

District 6: Elizabeth Yelton

District 7: Samantha Teves

District 8: Michael Martinez

District 9: Michael Lingberg

District 10: David Gower

District 11: Barbara Cosio Moreno

District 12: Nathan Abler

Reproduction Rights

Once received, entries and photos become and remain the property of Caltrans and may be used for a variety of purposes with no compensation to the artist or his/her Caltrans relative.

Winning entries, photos, and bios will be included in the Workers Memorial Program and Caltrans Be Work Zone Alert website. Winners will also receive a copy of their poster.