Calling all Children, Grandchildren, Nieces and Nephews of Caltrans Employees

Caltrans employees’ children, grandchildren, nieces and nephews 17 years of age and under can now submit highway safety art for the 2018 poster contest. This is an opportunity for the children in your family to share their thoughts and creative ideas about the importance of driving safely in or near a work zone and to be part of the educational outreach for this very important life-saving message.  Deadline for submissions is Monday, March 12, 2018.

Guidelines

Contest Theme:

The poster contest theme is highway safety.  Either the “Be Work Zone Alert” and/or “Move Over” phrase must appear on the poster. Artwork will be judged for its creative expression of encouraging drivers to slow down and save lives in highway work zones.

Eligibility: 

Applicants must be 17 years of age or younger and must be a child, grandchild, niece or nephew of a Caltrans employee.

Age Categories:   

Entries Must Include the Following:

Specifications: 

Artwork must be submitted on white 8 ½ x 11 paper.  Bold and/or bright colors reproduce best.  No computer-generated or altered artwork will be accepted. Poster can be portrait or landscape (vertical or horizontal). DO NOT FOLD ARTWORK.

Judging:

Posters will advance through two levels.  Each district and headquarters public affairs office will choose four posters, one from each age category, as its finalists.  A judging panel will select the four winning entries from among the finalists.

Artwork Will Be Judged On:

Deadline: 

Entries must be RECEIVED by your district’s liaison no later than Monday, March 12, 2018. Entries received after that date will be disqualified for the poster contest, but will remain the property of the state and may be used in future projects.

Submission:

Submit poster entries to your district poster contest liaison listed below.

District Liaisons:

HQ: Caroline Moreno - (916) 653-8879
Caroline.Moreno@dot.ca.gov
1120 N Street, MS 49
Sacramento, CA 95814

District 1: Cori Reed - (707) 441-4678
Cori.Reed@dot.ca.gov
1656 Union Street
Eureka, CA 95501

District 2: Shanna LeBaron - (530) 225-3214
Shanna.Lebaron@dot.ca.gov
1657 Riverside Drive
Redding, CA 96001

District 3: Liza Whitmore – (530) 634-7640
Liza.Whitmore@dot.ca.gov
703 B Street
Marysville, CA 95901

District 4: Robert Haus – (510) 286-5576
Robert.Haus@dot.ca.gov
111 Grand Avenue
Oakland, CA 94612

District 5: Autumn Woolworth – (805) 549-3461
Autumn.Woolworth@dot.ca.gov
50 Higuera Street
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

District 6: Tami Cox - (559) 488-4082
Tami.Cox@dot.ca.gov
1352 W. Olive Avenue
Fresno, CA 93728

District 7: Peter Jones – (213) 897-0106
Peter.Jones@dot.ca.gov
100 South Main Street, 13th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90012

District 8: Dawn Strough – (909) 383-4416
Dawn.Strough@dot.ca.gov
464 W. Fourth Street, MS 1209
San Bernardino, CA 92401-1400

District 9: Florene Trainor – (760) 872-0603
Florene.Trainor@dot.ca.gov
500 South Main Street
Bishop, CA 93514

District 10: Maria Rocha - (209) 948-7977
Maria.Rocha@dot.ca.gov
1976 E. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Blvd
Stockton, CA 95205

District 11: Carmen Sandoval - (619) 688-6670
Carmen.Sandoval@dot.ca.gov
4050 Taylor Street, MS 121
San Diego, CA 92110

District 12: Lexi Zavouris - (949) 892-8250
Alexis.Zavouris@dot.ca.gov
1750 East 4th Street, Suite 100
Santa Ana, CA 92705

Reproduction Rights:

Once received, entries and photos become and remain the property of Caltrans and may be used for a variety of purposes with no compensation to the artist or his/her Caltrans relative.

Winning entries, photos, and bios will be included in the Fallen Workers Memorial program and on the Caltrans Be Work Zone Alert website.  In addition, posters will be on display at the statewide Fallen Workers Memorial on April 26, 2018 at the State Capitol.  After the Memorial, winners will receive a copy of their poster.